The DanceVibes ‘Top 40’ Foxtrots — FAQs

(An interview with Glenn Walker, originator of the annual countdown of the “DanceVibes Top 40 Best Foxtrots of All Time”)

How did your ‘Top 40’ foxtrot list get started?
Some of the great foxtrot classics are actually what helped draw me into ballroom dancing. I think “Change Partners” by Vic Damone was one of the first that grabbed me with lyrics that reflected some of my early dancing experiences. Over the years, I took note of the songs that have great lyrics and a beat that made me want to dance, and began collecting them in my music library around 2002. Since then, I’ve amassed a library of hundreds of foxtrots and decided to narrow my list down to the ‘best of the best’ so I could share them with other dancers and with ballroom DJs, many of whom seemed to struggle finding some good foxtrots to play at their parties. That’s how the ‘Top 40’ was born, and it’s continued each year since.

What’s so special about ‘foxtrot’ compared with other ballroom genres?
Foxtrot songs are smooth, romantic, steeped in frivolity and fun lyrics. They bring back childhood fantasies of flying, teenage puppy love, and the passions and complications of romance that might last a day, or a lifetime. And they allow a wide versatility in dance style – from the sophisticated standard to jovial rhythmic movements. A good foxtrot is like taking a memorable trip, from warmup to take off, to soaring, then returning safely to your home.

How long have you been publishing your ‘Top 40’ foxtrot lists?
Since 2015. The new ‘Top 40’ comes out once a year, every August. All the previous lists can be found at my dance blog site: https://sddancevibes.wordpress.com/ .

Who are some of your favorite artists?
Of course Sinatra and other notable crooners like Michael Buble, Dean Martin, Andy Williams, Nat King Cole, Bobby Darin, and Ella Fitzgerald. And I’ve come to know and love others along the way: Dinah Washington, Keely Smith, James Darren, Steve Tyrell, Steve Lawrence, Matt Monroe, and so many others — all are represented on my “Top 40”.

Does anyone else do this?
I’ve seen several other lists of peoples’ favorite foxtrots online, but many are simply contemporary pop hits that will fade over time, or those with many instrumentals, or those heavy on the stodgy older versions of the classics from bygone eras. By contrast, the DanceVibes ‘Top 40’ focuses on the best foxtrot-danceable versions of the tried and true classics without being dated or sing-songey.

What makes your music different from those other lists?
I tend to stay away from the instrumentals and focus on songs in which the lyrics tell a story, usually a story of life, love, lust, or loneliness. I look for songs with a smooth sound (vs. staccato), preferably with big band support, an arrangement with great momentum, and a good beat with constant tempo targeting 120 (+/-) beats/minute, and those sung in a way that make you hit the quicks, hold the slows, and stretch out the oversways. Many of the songs I’m attracted to are the neo-modern classics as sung by the Sinatra style crooners, and more modern remakes of them. But the band, too, is paramount. Some of the outstanding bands Sinatra used — Tommy Dorsey, Nelson Riddle, Quincy Jones, etc. — were the best in the business and could really make a good song into an exceptionally great song.

How does a song make it to your “Top 40”? And how is its ranking determined?
I look at some of the elements described earlier (tempo, momentum, arrangement, etc.), but there’s a large dose of subjectivity involved as well. I usually begin putting together my list in April in order to come up with a final list by August. I start with my best 200 or so foxtrots, and during those months, I do a lot of pairwise comparisons, i.e., listen to two songs in a row and decide which I like better. This is how songs move up and down the chart. Some songs have great ‘staying power’, remaining favorites no matter how often they’re played over the decades. Others, without the staying power, will tend to move down the charts over the years when they begin to lose their luster. I also use feedback and comments from dancers when I play these songs at my parties. For me, the lyrics are important. However, most dancers don’t listen to the lyrics while they’re dancing, but their comments are invaluable with regard to danceability and general impression.

So, would you say you’ve got the best foxtrot collection anywhere?
I wouldn’t SAY that. However, if someone else claimed to have the ‘best foxtrot collection’, I’d challenge them! Truth is, ‘best’ is a subjective word, everyone has their personal preferences. There’s no way to objectively back up a claim like that. I’m happy with my collection, which makes great listening music as well as for dancing. I’m sure there are others who might like my selections as well, which is why I’ve shared them online.


One thought on “The DanceVibes ‘Top 40’ Foxtrots — FAQs

Leave a comment